Meetings, Schedule

Meetings begin with lunch at 11:30 and speakers at 12:00.

Thursday 4/14/22 – Location: Spare Time, 340 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines


Elizabeth Burns-Thompson – VP of Government and Public Affairs, Navigator CO2

Topic: Carbon


Bio: Raised in Iowa, it was Elizabeth’s passion for agriculture that led her to Iowa State University, where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Business & International Agriculture. Elizabeth also holds a Juris Doctorate from Drake Law School, specializing in agricultural law and policy, and is a licensed attorney in the State of Iowa. 

Throughout her professional career she has specialized in helping farmers and rural agricultural businesses sustain their voice in the political process, in roles with the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Corn Growers Association, and Renewable Energy Group. Much of her time now is focused on promoting carbon capture and sequestration with ethanol and fertilizer facilities across the Midwest as Vice President of Government and Public Affairs for Navigator CO2. In addition to her professional career, she is an active resident and volunteer within her community, and was elected to the Altoona City Council in November of 2019. 

She also holds leadership roles within the BRAVO Greater Des Moines regional arts initiative, Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), and the Altoona Chamber of Commerce. She’s also been a long-standing volunteer for the ISU Alumni Association, American Agricultural Law Association, and the Young Professionals in Agriculture. Elizabeth was recognized as of the 2020 Altoona Young Professional of the Year, Des Moines Register’s “15 To Watch in 2020,” AgGrad’s “30 Under 30 in Agriculture,” and was named the 2019 Emerging Leader Award winner by Iowa State University College of Agriculture & Life Sciences. 

Outside of her professional and community commitments, Elizabeth enjoys traveling, gardening, and the occasional Pinterest project.

Meetings begin with lunch at 11:30 and speakers at 12:00.